Congratulations to all our Choices Award Winners

choices award winner lifetime achiever tony edge

The Choices for Disability Sport Awards 2014 were held recently to celebrate the achievements of the people and organisations that make the Choices programme possible.

The Choices Programme, funded by St James’s Place Foundation since 2012, is offered by Greenbank Sports Academy (GSA) to increase the sporting opportunities available to disabled people at GSA and in the Merseyside area.

Choices Awards Co-ordinator Mark Palmer said “It is so nice to be able to give recognition to all of those people who work so hard to make the Choices programme happen either as part of a club or as an individual. Thanks to our award sponsors for making this possible and to St James’s Place Foundation for their continued support of the programme”.

2014 Awards

Club of the Year sponsored by Marshall Property


Merseyside Blind Football Club

Liverpool Lions Wheelchair Rugby Club

Liverpool Wheelchair Handball Club

Down Syndrome Liverpool Football Club

SAVI North West

Greenbank Boccia Club

Winner:  Liverpool Lions Wheelchair Rugby Club


Senior of the Year sponsored by Liverpool John Moores University


Roy Turnham – Merseyside Blind Football Club & SAVI North West

Martin Beddis – Wheelchair Rugby

Mark Swift – Table Tennis/Wheelchair Handball

Callum Farrelly – Wheelchair Handball

Steve Cooley – Wheelchair Basketball/Wheelchair Rugby

Winner: Roy Turnham


Choices Junior of the Year sponsored by Typhoo


Liam Triggs – Power Hockey and Choices Camps

Marcus Harrison – Electric Power Hockey

Alex Warine – Electric Power Hockey

Ellie Curran – Electric Power Hockey / Choices Camps

Winner: Marcus Harrison


Choices Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Jaguar Land Rover


Timmy Tonner – Greenbank Powerlifting Club/Greenbank Cycling Club

Malcolm Forster – Liverpool Wheelchair Handball Club

George Jolley – Liverpool Wheelchair Handball Club

Sam Williams – MSP/Mini Leagues/Disability Events

Winner: Timmy Tonner


Choices Coach of the Year sponsored by Carlsberg UK


Alan Atkinson – Down Syndrome Liverpool Football Club

Martin Beddis – Liverpool Lions Wheelchair Rugby Club

Pete Wyman – Greenbank Boccia Club

Winner: Alan Atkinson


Choices Lifetime Achiever Award sponsored by Cyclone Mobility


Gerry Kinsella MBE– Wheelchair Basketball

Alan Atkinson – Down Syndrome Football

Joan Bateman – MSP Boccia Mini Leagues

Tony Edge – Greenbank Table Tennis Club

Winner: Tony Edge